Archived 15th edition home
Ethnologue > Web version > Country index > Asia > Malaysia

Languages of Malaysia

Malaysia. 23,522,482. National or official language: Malay. Also includes Burmese, Chinese Sign Language, Eastern Panjabi (43,000), Malayalam (37,000), Sylheti, Telugu (30,000), Western Cham, people from Indonesia, Pakistan, the Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United Kingdom. Information mainly from S. Wurm and S. Hattori 1981. Deaf population: 31,000 (1980). Deaf institutions: 5. The number of languages listed for Malaysia is 141. Of those, 140 are living languages and 1 is extinct.