Archived 15th edition home
Ethnologue > Web version > Country index > Pacific > Tokelau

Languages of Tokelau

Formerly called Union Islands. 1,458. National or official language: English. A New Zealand self-governing territory. Three atolls: Atafu, Nukunono, Fakaofo. Literacy rate: 94%. Information mainly from N. Besnier 1992. The number of languages listed for Tokelau is 2. Of those, both are living languages.

Living languages


[eng] 40 in Tokelau (2004).  Classification: Indo-European, Germanic, West, English 
More information.


[tkl] 1,405 in Tokelau (2004). Population total all countries: 3,242. Also spoken in American Samoa, New Zealand, USA. Alternate names: Tokelau.  Dialects: There are dialect differences among the three atolls. Intelligible with Tuvaluan. Close to Samoan. Tokelauans read the Samoan Bible and some speak some Samoan.  Classification: Austronesian, Malayo-Polynesian, Central-Eastern, Eastern Malayo-Polynesian, Oceanic, Central-Eastern Oceanic, Remote Oceanic, Central Pacific, East Fijian-Polynesian, Polynesian, Nuclear, Samoic-Outlier, Tokelauan 
More information.