American Samoa

Sovereignty Comment
Self-governing, unincorporated insular area of the United States

56,000 (2010 census)

General Remarks
Includes 7 islands: Tutuila, Aunuu, Manua Islands (Ta’u, Olosega, Ofu), Rose, Swains
Principal Languages
English, Samoan
Literacy Rate
97% (2011 World Factbook)
Immigrant Languages
Japanese (1,500), Korean, Tokelauan (100), Tongan (800)
General References
Besnier 1992; Wurm and Hattori 1981
Language Counts
The number of individual languages listed for American Samoa is 2. All are living languages. Of these, 2 are institutional.