Official Name
Kingdom of Spain, Reino de España

46,647,000 (2013 World Bank)

General Remarks
Under the 1978 constitution all Spanish provinces organized themselves into 19 autonomous communities, including the northwest African cities of Ceuta and Melilla. Only those communities have the constitutional authority to designate official regional languages alongside Spanish. Spain continues to have a political association with the Canary Islands
Principal Languages
Literacy Rate
97% (2010 UNESCO)
Immigrant Languages
Arabic (200,000), Chinese (20,000), Fa d’Ambu (600), Iranian Persian (25,000), Judeo-Tunisian Arabic, Kabuverdianu (10,000), Portuguese, Tarifit, Vlax Romani (1,000)
Deaf Population
General References
Agard 1984; Comrie 1987; Stephens 1976
Language Counts
The number of individual languages listed for Spain is 15. All are living languages. Of these, 4 are institutional, 4 are developing, 2 are vigorous, and 5 are in trouble.
See full country report.