A language of Spain

Alternate Names
Castellano, Castilian, Español

29,900,000 in Spain (2010). Population total all countries: 405,638,110.


Central, south; Canary Islands. Also in Andorra, Anguilla, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Canada, Caribbean Netherlands, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curacao, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Jamaica, Mexico, Morocco, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Sint Maarten, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, United States, U.S. Virgin Islands, Uruguay, Venezuela.

Language Status

1 (National). Statutory national language (1978, Constitution, Art 3(1)), recognized statutory language in all autonomous cities and communities under various local laws.


American Spanish (Chicano), Andalusian (Andalú, Andalusí, Andaluz), Aragonese, Canary Islands Spanish (Isleño), Castilian, Murcian, Navarrese, Silbo Gomero. Lexical similarity: 89% with Portuguese [por], 85% with Catalan [cat], 82% with Italian [ita], 76% with Sardinian [src], 75% with French [fra], 74% with Ladin [lld], 71% with Romanian [ron].


SVO; prepositions; genitives, relatives after noun heads; articles, numerals before noun heads; adjectives before or after noun heads depending on whether it is evaluative or descriptive; question word initial; (C(C))V(C); nontonal. Silbo Gomero whistled variety of Spanish used in Canary Islands

Language Use

60,000,000 L2 speakers.

Language Development
Fully developed. Bible: 1553–2000.
Braille script. Latin script, primary usage.
Other Comments

The Aragonese dialect of Spanish is different from Aragonese language [arg]. Christian.

Also spoken in:

Expand All Collapse All