The compilation of a body of information as large as the Ethnologue over the last six and a half decades is the result of the cooperation and participation of a multitude of contributors. Lamentably, space does not permit a comprehensive listing of every contributor since Ethnologue came into existence. This edition has benefited particularly from the contributions of researchers, language fieldworkers, and users of the languages who have freely given their time and expertise to improve the accuracy and quality of the data. We are especially grateful to those who have joined our team of Field Contributors, as well as to a growing number of online registered users who contribute valuable input through the Feedback tabs on the website.

Gary F. Simons, as Executive Editor, has provided the oversight and coordination for the task of bringing this new edition into existence, as well as guiding the process of change as we seek to keep improving the content and coverage of Ethnologue. Charles D. Fennig, Managing Editor, has supervised the data entry process, tracked changes, dealt with thousands of electronic and hard copy communications, and has done a great deal of in-depth research in response to communications from users. M. Paul Lewis, having stepped down after 12 years in the role of General Editor, has continued to provide us with valuable assistance as an Editorial Consultant. The editorial team is augmented by the work of Colleen Ahland and Michael Ahland as Language Classification Editors, Albert Bickford as Sign Languages Editor, Lorna Priest Evans as Script and Writing Systems Editor, and Linda Simons as the Ethnologue Bibliographer. We have also benefited from the research assistance provided by Beth Brye (on autoglottonyms), Hannah Eichorn (on international conventions), Robert Johnson (on geopolitical matters), and Abbey Thomas (on a variety of issues). Denise Hovland has supported the editorial team by patiently and diligently entering volumes of data.

Technical support for the Ethnologue database and the systems that allow us to edit the information and produce publications from it has been provided by Chad White, webmaster and lead developer. Roger Hanggi, Donald May, and Joe McCarthy have provided additional database support.

The language maps have been produced under the direction of SIL’s Lead Cartographer, Irene Tucker, by John Amdahl, Matt Benjamin, Joe Bryant, Eva Horton, and Marcus Love with quality assurance and technical assistance from Stephen Tucker and additional research by Colin Davis and Paul Thomas. Significant help in updating the maps for this edition has been received through personal communications from the following: Izang Agwom, Colleen Ahland, Stan Anonby, Roger Blench, Stuart Cameron, Pierpaolo di Carlo, Greg Carlson, Tucker Childs, Melanie Cody, Bruce Cox, Jeffrey Davis, Jon Dolan, Josh Dyer, Robert Early, Kyle Eipperle, Ryan Gehrmann, Fittokka Gobak, Rynj Gonzales, Jeff Good, Charlie Hanawalt, Robert Hedinger, Sara Hewitt, Lee Hochstetler, Luther Hon, Linda Jordan, Andreas Joswig, Ken Keyes, Brad Koenig, Paul Kroeger, Nikolay Kyurkchiev, Elizabeth Langhout, David Loea, David Mead, Joseph Mfonyam, Mark Miller, Bernadette Mitterhoffer, John Muniru, John Garah Nengel, Uche S. Neweke, Linus Otronyi, Jacqueline Pugh-Kitingan, Suma Reverio, Bonnie Glover Stalls, John Turl, Kyle Von Rueden, Zach Yoder.

The Ethnologue benefits greatly from the close cooperation of Melinda Lyons, ISO 639-3 Registrar, who has assisted us in keeping our database aligned with the ISO 639-3 inventory of identified languages.

The updated information reported in this edition reflects the cooperation and communications over the last year from hundreds of researchers in the field as well as members of language communities who have made contact with us to contribute updated information. The change records in our database show that 414 additional people beyond the project staff named above have contributed at least one update to the database since the previous edition was published one year ago.

We want to give special recognition to our most prolific contributors. Each of the following 20 people contributed more than 35 updates to this edition: Stan Anonby, Ted Bergman, Nate Cheeseman, Cyril Franchomme, Katie Freedman, Ryan Gehrmann, Maik Gibson, Charlie Hanawalt, Andreas Heinz, Kiersten Henkel, Linda Jordan, Mari-Sisko Khadgi, Angela Kluge, Ken Olson, Eric Pawley, Neil Rees, Phil Shenk, P. R. Shinu, Nathan Statezni, and John Williams.

The list of contributors continues with the following 97 who contributed 5 or more updates: Dany Adone, Anton Aldemir, Karl Anderbeck, Sandra Anonby, Laura Arnold, Graham Baxter, Todd Bequette, John Berthelette, Mats Blakstad, Brenda Boerger, Maria Braga, Benjamin Braithwaite, R. D. Prabhas Chataut, Katia Chirkova, Emilio Cid, Henriette Daudey, Ken Decker, Josh Dyer, Pam Echerd, Dwayne Emberson, John Eppele, O. J. Gamache, Rynj Gonzales, David E. Greninger, Elizabeth Hall, Sajjad Hamadani, Cameron Hamm, Rob Hess, Lee Hochstetler, April Hope, Richard Hoyle, Greg Huteson, George Huttar, Saleh Mahmud Idris, Andy Iverson, Adam Johnson, Russell Johnson, Andreas Joswig, Jung Mi Kang, Paulus-Jan Kieviet, Eugen Krasiuk, Joseph Kyari, Wilson Largo, Karsten Legère, Susie Locklin, Marcus Love, Rochelle Lucas, Liana Lupas, Melinda Lyons, Peter Maitz, Ken Manson, Steve Marlett, John E. McLaughlin, Emanuele Miola, Bernadette Mitterhofer, Stephen Morey, Bill Morrison, Elvire Ngnoulaye, Tam Nguyen, Kelvin Nicolle, Mark Osborne, Jim Owen, Aliana Parker, Steve Parkhurst, Elizabeth Parks, Lindy Pate, John Pearson, Paul Porodong, Parvez Qadir, Novel Kishore Rai, Vahid Rezaei, Erroll Rhodes, Dave Riggs, Jim Roberts, Louis Rose, Jennifer Runner, Carlos Sánchez Avendaño, Hannah Sande, Emir Selimi, Satoko Shirai, Stuart Showalter, Donald Slager, Joshua Smolders, Tim Stirtz, Jonathan Thurley, Katharina Tupper, Joe Valentin, René van den Berg, Mike Ward, Barb Waugh, Christopher Wilde, Andrew Wolfe, Yogendra P. Yadava, Kar Yaw, Yeong, Juhong Yun, and Saeed Zubair.

And the list could continue with 297 more names of those who made at least one contribution, each of which was significant because it allowed us to publish better information. To all of our contributors we are deeply grateful for we recognize that the success of our efforts depends on their generosity.