The compilation of a body of information as large as the Ethnologue over the last seven decades is the result of the cooperation and participation of a multitude of contributors. Lamentably, space does not permit a comprehensive listing of every contributor since Ethnologue came into existence. This edition has benefited particularly from the contributions of researchers, language fieldworkers, and users of the languages who have freely given their time and expertise to improve the accuracy and quality of the data. We are especially grateful to those who have joined our team of Field Contributors, as well as to a growing number of online registered users who contribute valuable input through the Contribute tabs on the website.

Gary F. Simons, as Executive Editor, has provided the oversight and coordination for the task of bringing this new edition into existence, as well as guiding the process of change as we seek to keep improving the content and coverage of Ethnologue . David M. Eberhard, as General Editor, has provided overall direction for the editorial staff and for the data gathering activities of the Ethnologue. Charles D. Fennig, Managing Editor, has supervised the data entry process, tracked changes, dealt with thousands of electronic and hard copy communications, and has done a great deal of in-depth research in response to communications from users. M. Paul Lewis, having stepped down after 12 years in the role of General Editor, has continued to provide us with valuable assistance as an Editorial Consultant. The editorial team is augmented by the work of Colleen Ahland and Michael Ahland as Language Classification Editors, Albert Bickford as Sign Languages Editor, Lorna Priest Evans as Script and Writing Systems Editor, and Linda Simons as Bibliographer. Rounding out the editorial staff is a team of research assistants who have contributed greatly through their data gathering efforts: Beth Brye, Stephen Graham, Trina Graham, and Kiersten Henkel.

Technical support for the Ethnologue database and the systems that allow us to edit the information and produce publications from it has been provided by Chad White, webmaster and lead developer. Dwayne Emberson and Donald May have provided additional database support.

The language maps have been produced under the direction of SIL’s Lead Cartographer, Matt Benjamin, by John Amdahl, Dale Baumgartner, Joe Bryant, Marcus Love, and Irene Tucker with additional research by Colin Davis and Eva Horton, and with quality assurance from Beth Brye and technical assistance from Stephen Tucker. During this edition cycle the team have been working on fitting all of the language polygons to a much higher resolution base map of the world—a daunting task where a myriad of islands or intricate coastlines is involved. Consequently there are no new or updated maps in this edition; the normal update process will resume with the next edition.

The Ethnologue benefits greatly from the close cooperation of Melinda Lyons, ISO 639-3 Registrar, who has assisted us in keeping our database aligned with the ISO 639-3 inventory of identified languages.

The updated information reported in this edition reflects the cooperation and communications over the last year from hundreds of researchers in the field as well as members of language communities who have made contact with us to contribute updated information. The change records in our database show that 315 additional people beyond the project staff named above have contributed at least one update to the database since the previous edition was published one year ago.

We want to give special recognition to our most prolific contributors. Each of the following 23 people contributed more than 30 updates to this edition: Darcy Berglund, Nate Cheeseman, Thangi Chhangte, Debbie Chi, Pam Echerd, Owen Edwards, Dwayne Emberson, David Gardner, Cameron Hamm, Rob Hess, Linda Jordan, Hanh King, Jason Lobel, Joseph Lovestrand, William McConvell, Kirk Miller, Bill Morrison, Devin O’Bannon, Parvez Qadir, Christina Riepe, Sarah Shackelford, Joan Spanne, and Louward Allen Zubiri.

The list of contributors continues with the following 113 who contributed 5 or more updates: Dany Adone, Matthew Ambers, Frederica Angeli, Stan Anonby, Anthony Aristar, Monique Arritt, Dahniar Arsyad, La Ode Balawa, Sarah Bannon, Russell Barlow, Mohammed Belkacem, Ted Bergman, Pier Marco Bertinetto, Rona Bilbro, Roger Blench, Timotheus Bodt, Douglas W. Boone, Timothy Brickell, John Brownie, Dave Brunn, Yazna Bueno, Mike Cahill, Ruth Cowan, Dennis Coyle, Maria Perpétua da Silva, Chandra Dewanto, Lindsley Drake, Jeconiah L. Dreisbach, Barbara Earth, Jean-Luc Fournier, Alexander François, Henrique and Raquel Freitas, Ricky Yakub Ganang, Fabrício Gerardi, Geratia, Hamid, Asri Hamid, Dave Hare, Paul Hattaway, Terresa Hiebert, Lee Hochstetler, Denise Hovland, Sulev Iva, Marcus Jaeger, Jahada, Mari-Sisko Khadgi, Muhammed Khamis, Peter Knapp, La Aso, La Bimba, La Madila, Basil Modi Aburli Laboka, Iver Larsen, Karsten Legère, Joe Leman, Ajay Kumar Lima, Marlon and Roziane Luz, Melinda Lyons, Brendon Marshall, David Miller, Christian Mortensen, Andreas Neudorf, Susanne Neudorf, Angi Williams Ngumbu, Richard Nzogi, Airton and Talita Oliveira, MohamEd Ourang, Stephen Pattemore, Sahyudin Pirkan, Brad A. Pollard, Justin Power, Denize Prill, Konstanse Raen, Rahmin, Ramly, Rodrigo W. Randig, Rasdiana Razak, Neil Rees, Mark Richards, Jim Roberts, Ali Robinson, Rachel Ruppert, Moaaz Saad, Muhammad Zaman Sagar, La Ode Sahidin, Nurdin Sahlan, Renhard Saupia, Tammy Schutt, Serlina, PR Shinu, Nikolaus Zakharia Sitandana, Scott Smith, Sean Smith, Glenna Sollenberger, Sumardi, Supriadi, Tambunan, Abhy To Dakka, Christina Truong, Ian Tupper, Sumiman Udu, Ummiyati, Ram Kisun Uranw, Atsuko Utsumi, René van den Berg, Sahiinii Lemaina Veikho, Alan Vogel, Martha L. Wade, Kiswan Wahab, Rich Wallhoff, Mary Ruth Wise, Kasia Wojtylak, and Chen Yuanhao.

And the list could continue with 179 more names of those who made at least one contribution, each of which was significant because it allowed us to publish better information. To all of our contributors we are deeply grateful for we recognize that the success of our efforts depends on their generosity.