Cook Islands

Sovereignty Comment
Self-governing territory in free association with New Zealand

17,791 (2011 census)

General Remarks
15 islands including the northern islands of Pukapuka, Nassau, Manihiki, Rakahanga, Penrhyn (Tongareva), and Palmerston
Principal Languages
English, Rarotongan
Literacy Rate
General References
Besnier 1992; Wurm 2007; Wurm and Hattori 1981
Language Counts
The number of individual languages listed for Cook Islands is 5. All are living languages. Of these, 1 is institutional and 4 are in trouble.