Puerto Rico

Official Name
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Estado Libre Asociado de Puerto Rico
Sovereignty Comment
Self-governing insular area in commonwealth status with the United States

3,667,000 (2012 UNDESA)

Principal Languages
English, Spanish
Literacy Rate
91% (2010 UNESCO)
Immigrant Languages
American Sign Language, Chinese (2,000), Eastern Yiddish, Haitian (440), Italian (1,560), Ladino, North Levantine Spoken Arabic, Papiamentu (200), South Levantine Spoken Arabic, Standard German (1,450)
Deaf Population
Language Counts
The number of individual languages listed for Puerto Rico is 4. All are living languages. Of these, 2 are institutional, 1 is in trouble, and 1 is dying.