Tatar, Siberian


A language of Russian Federation

Alternate Names
Eastern Tatar

101,000 (2012 M. Sagidullin).


Novosibirsk province, Omsk province, Tomsk province, and Tyumen province. Novosibirsk region and the Barabinsk steppe (Baraban dialect); Omsk and Tyumensk districts, basins of Irtysh and Tobol rivers (Tobol-Irtysh dialect); Kemerovsk and Novosibirsk districts, Tomsk district, along Tomi and Ob rivers (Tomsk dialect).

Language Status

6a* (Vigorous).


Tobol-Irtysh (Tobolo-Irtysh), Baraban (Baraba, Barabinsk Tatar), Tomsk (Tom, Tomsk Tatar). Sub-dialects of Tobol-Irtysh are Zabolotny, Tobol, Tiumen, Tar, and Tevriz; sub-dialects of Tomsk are Kalmak and Chat-Eushtin.

Language Use



Unwritten [Qaax].

Other Comments

Different from Tatar [tat]. Subgroups of the Barabinsk Tatar: Barabo-Turashi, Terenino-Choi, and Liubei-Tunusy; subgroups of the Tobolo-Irtysh: Tars, Kurdak-Sargatsk, Tobolsk, Tiumen, and Iaskolbin Tatar; subgroups of the Tomsk Tatar: Kalmak, Chat, and Eushta.

Page Views Left: